AS Roma, Atalanta and Fiorentina: Europa League & Conference League previews – Matchday 4 2023/24

AS Roma can qualify from their Europa League group with a win on Thursday night, whilst Atalanta and Fiorentina can both take big steps towards doing the same in the Europa League and Europa Conference League respectively.

-

Thursday’s European action offers a lot of excitement for the three Italian teams involved. The week of European football as a whole could be very positive for Serie A sides given the Champions League results that saw three wins and draw. 

Starting with AS Romawho face Slavia Praha in Europa League Group G. The Giallorossi were victorious against the Czech giants on Europa League Matchday 3, and a win on Thursday would see them progress into the knockout stages of the competition. 

Atalanta also faces a similar fate in Europa League Group D. Sitting at the top of their group, they will look to better their result from Matchday 3 against Sturm Graz – a 2-2 draw. Earning three points at the Gewiss Stadium would see them qualify for the next round of the tournament. 

Fiorentina, unfortunately, have a more difficult job in the Europa Conference League Group F. Like their domestic counterparts they sit on top of their respective group, but it is only due to goal difference. After dismantling Cukaricki on Matchday 3, they will look to recreate that performance and make qualifying a little easier. 

Team news and predicted lineups

Slavia Praha vs AS Roma – Europa League

Romelu Lukaku, Nicola Zalewski and Stephan El Shaarawy celebrate with Edoardo Bove for AS Roma in the Europa League. (@OfficialASRoma)

After his late goal on Sunday evening, Jose Mourinho may bring Sardar Azmoun into the starting 11 – in the place of Houssem Aouar. In addition, Leandro Paredes should return to the starting lineup and is expected to displace Bryan Cristante. 

The hosts are expected to replicate their lineup from Matchday 3. However, there may be a place from the offset for Mjomir Chytil. The striker has scored twice in Europe so far this term as such, he may replace Ivan Schranz.

Slavia Praha predicted lineup vs AS Roma (3-4-2-1): Mandous; Masopust, Ogbu, Holes; Doudera, Dorley, Zafeiris, Boril; Jurecka, Provod; Chytil

AS Roma predicted lineup vs Slavia Praha (3-5-2): Svilar; Mancini, Llorente, Ndicka; Celik, Bove, Paredes, Aouar, El Shaarawy; Lukaku, Belotti

Atalanta vs Sturm Graz – Europa League

Atalanta’s Curva Nord puts on a display ahead of a Europa League game at the Gewiss Stadium. (@Atalanta_BC)

Gian Piero Gasperini is expected to make two changes from Serie A Matchday 11’s defeat against Inter. Whilst Rafael Toloi received a red card, he is due to start this fixture ahead of Giorgio ScalviniLuis Muriel is also set to start ahead of Gianluca Scamacca – the Colombian has two goals in the competition so far. 

With Otar Kiteishvili injured, Alexander Prass will likely take the role behind the two strikers. Stefan Hierlander’s red card from Matchday 3 will mean that Dimitri Lavalee will take the captain’s spot in the starting 11.

Atalanta predicted lineup vs Sturm Graz (3-4-1-2): Musso; Toloi, Djimsiti, Kolasinac; Zappacosta, Ederson, De Roon, Ruggeri; Koopmeiners; Muriel, Lookman

Sturm Graz predicted lineup vs Atalanta (4-3-1-2): Scherpen; Johnston, Affengruber, Wuthrich, Schnegg; Horvat, Stankovic, Lavalee; Prass; Sarkaria, Wlodarczyk

Cukaricki vs Fiorentina – Europa Conference League

Fiorentina’s Luca Ranieri head in against Genk in the Europa Conference League. [@ACFFiorentinaEN]

After cruising past Cukaricki 6-0 last time, Vincenzo Italiano could start a few fringe players, with more of a focus on ensuring his side has their strongest players available for Serie A Matchday 12’s fixture against Bologna

Luka Subotic’s red card from the fixture in Florence means that Vojin Serafimovic will likely replace him at centre-half. Aside from that, the Serbian side is not expected to make any changes.

Cukaricki predicted lineup vs Fiorentina (4-3-3): Filipovic; Nikcevic, Vranjes, Kovacevic, Tosic; Stankovic, Sissoko, Kovac; Ivanovic, Adetunji, Ndiaye

Fiorentina predicted lineup vs Cukaricki (4-3-3): Christensen; Pierozzi, Milenkovic, Ranieri, Biraghi; Bonaventura, Lopez, Duncan; Ikone, Nzola, Sottil

What time are the Europa League and Europa Conference League matches?

Slavia Praha vs AS Roma in the Europa League and Cukaricki vs Fiorentina in the Europa Conference League kick off at 18:45 CET on Thursday, making them a 17:45 GMT start in the UK and Ireland. In the United States, those games will kick off at 12:45 ET/ 09:45 PT.

Atalanta vs Sturm Graz kicks off at 21:00 CET on Thursday, making it 20:00 GMT in the UK and Ireland. In the United States, kick-off is at 15:00 ET/ 12:00 PT.

Where to watch the Europa League and Europa Conference League games

In the UK and Ireland, Slavia Praha vs AS Roma can be viewed on TNT Sports 4. In the later kick-off, Atalanta vs Sturm Graz is on TNT Sports 5Cukaricki vs Fiorentina is on TNT Sports 8.

In the United States, all three of the games can be viewed on Paramount+.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Must Read

Italiano Fiorentina

Fiorentina are drifting under Vincenzo Italiano with a trophy needed to...

0
Fiorentina's 2023/24 Serie A season is starting to get away from them after a very underwhelming start to the calendar year, and there is...