How many times have AS Roma won Serie A?

AS Roma are one of Italy's biggest clubs, and their fanbase is one of the most passionate. But they haven't won as many Serie A titles as a club of their stature would like.


Rome is a city that is rich in history and culture, which gives the inhabitants of Italy’s capital great pride. The Romans also have a great passion for football, and AS Roma are one of the teams from the Eternal City that have regular featured in Serie A. The number of Serie A titles won by Roma, though, may come as a surprise.

Formed in 1927 after a merger between Alba Roma, Roman, and Fortitudo Pro Roma, the Giallorossi play their matches at the Stadio Olimpico, and they contest the Derby della Capitale against their hated rivals Lazio, a fixture often filled with drama, tension, and controversy.

Although they have had stars from all over Italy and the rest of the world, the AS Roma supporters have had soft spots for their local heroes such as Amadeo Amadei, Bruno Conti, Giuseppe Giannini, Francesco Totti, and Daniele De Rossi.

How many Serie A titles have AS Roma won?

AS Roma won their first scudetto – or Serie A title – in the 1941/42 season in the midst of World War II, finishing three points above Torino in the Serie A table. Goalkeeper Guido Masetti provided great assurance between the goalposts while Amadei fired in 18 goals.

The Giallorossi waited over 40 years before being crowned Italian champions again. Under the tutelage of Swedish tactician Nils Liedholm, the Lupi were known for their attacking approach in an era when most Italian teams were still known to favour the defensive catenaccio tactic.

With Ligurian striker Roberto Pruzzo firing in the goals and local boys Agostino Di Bartolomei and Conti playing influential roles, AS Roma won the 1982/83 Serie A title and finished four points ahead of Juventus. They also came close to winning the European Cup the following year in front of their own fans, but Liverpool emerged victorious on penalties in the final.

In the 1990s, the emergence of Totti gave Giallorossi fans plenty of hope and excitement, and president Franco Sensi built a strong team around the mercurial talents of the Roman forward. However, Sensi needed to get his choice of coach right and he hired former AC Milan and Real Madrid tactician in 2000.

AS Roma went on to win their third and most recent Serie A title in 2000/01, which was also the only time they have done it when three points have been awarded for a victory. They finished two points above Juventus in second while Lazio, who had won the scudetto in the previous season, were six points behind the Lupi in third.

Spalletti and Garcia unable to break scudetto drought

Since that scudetto triumph, AS Roma have remarkably finished second nine times in Serie A. Capello finished as a runner-up twice before leaving in 2004, then the Giallorossi came second on four occasions under Luciano Spalletti during his two spells coaching the Roman club, and local boy Claudio Ranieri lost out to Inter in 2010.

Frenchman Rudi Garcia won his first 10 Serie A matches in charge of I Lupi, but his teams had to settle for second place behind Juventus in 2013/14 and 2014/15. Jose Mourinho has been in charge for two seasons, but he has not secured any domestic honours as yet. Could it be third-time lucky for AS Roma and The Special One?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Must Read

Morata Spain

Why is signing Alvaro Morata from Atletico Madrid a shrewd decision...

After spending the last two seasons with Atletico Madrid and captaining the Spain Men's National Team to victory at the 2024 European Championship, Alvaro...

Every Serie A shirt for 2024/25