Death, taxes, and Carlo Ancelotti winning the Champions League – some things in life are as guaranteed as the fact that night follows day. The legendary Italian coach has done it again, leading Real Madrid to a historic 15th European Cup win by beating Borussia Dortmund 2-0 at Wembley.

Dani Carvajal and Vinicius Junior were the scorers at Wembley as Los Blancos extended their incredible record in Europe’s elite club competition, but the win also saw Ancelotti continue to dominate the Champions League.

Ancelotti dominates the Champions League

Having first won the European Cup as a player with AC Milan in 1989, Carletto has gone on to lift the famous trophy seven times. He won it again the following year, still with the Rossoneri, and would then have to wait until his coaching days to be crowned European champion for the third time.

His first Champions League win as a coach came in an all-Italian final when AC Milan beat his former side Juventus on penalties at Old Trafford in 2003, and he then saw the Rossoneri past Liverpool in 2007.

His next three Champions League wins all came with Real Madrid. In 2014 he led Los Blancos past city rivals Atletico Madrid in Lisbon, then beat Liverpool again in 2022 in Paris, before his seventh personal triumph – and fifth as coach – against Dortmund in London in 2024.

Carlo Ancelotti’s European Cup/Champions League wins

When it comes to knockout football and, in particular, the Champions League, there is nobody around quite like Carlo Ancelotti.

Real Madrid‘s 2023/24 Champions League win marked his seventh European Cup win as a player and a coach. Incredibly, it came as his fifth Champions League win as a coach.


  • 1988/89: Ancelotti played 90 minutes in the final as AC Milan beat Steaua Bucuresti 4-0.
  • 1989/90: Ancelotti started and played 75 minutes as AC Milan beat Benfica 1-0.


  • 2002/03: AC Milan beat Juventus on penalties in the final.
  • 2006/07: AC Milan beat Liverpool 2-1 in the final.
  • 2013/14: Real Madrid beat Atletico Madrid 4-1 after extra time in the final.
  • 2021/22: Real Madrid beat Liverpool 1-0 in the final.
  • 2023/24: Real Madrid beat Borussia Dortmund 2-0 in the final