The 2024 European Championship is now just a matter of days away, and Italy Men’s National Team coach Luciano Spalletti has named his 26-man squad, and not without controversy.

With international football tournaments still being something of an opportunity for people from all over the world to watch players they wouldn’t otherwise pay attention to, it can be helpful to know exactly who is wearing which number when tuning in to watch a game.

And so, below, we have listed each of the confirmed Italy shirt numbers at Euro 2024 and the full Italy squad for the tournament in Germany.

Italy Euro 2024 shirt numbers

Lorenzo Pellegrini with the Italy Men’s National Team. (@Azzurri)

Below is the complete list of Italy’s Euro 2024 shirt numbers, in numerical order.

  1. Gianluigi Donnarumma
  2. Giovanni Di Lorenzo
  3. Federico Dimarco
  4. Alessandro Buongiorno
  5. Riccardo Calafiori
  6. Federico Gatti
  7. Davide Frattesi
  8. Jorginho
  9. Gianluca Scamacca
  10. Lorenzo Pellegrini
  11. Giacomo Raspadori
  12. Guglielmo Vicario
  13. Matteo Darmian
  14. Federico Chiesa
  15. Raoul Bellanova
  16. Bryan Cristante
  17. Gianluca Mancini
  18. Nicolo Barella
  19. Mateo Retegui
  20. Mattia Zaccagni
  21. Nicolo Fagioli
  22. Stephan El Shaarawy
  23. Alessandro Bastoni
  24. Andrea Cambiaso
  25. Michael Folorunsho
  26. Alex Meret

Italy’s Euro 2024 squad

Luciano Spalletti with the Italy Men’s National Team. (@Azzurri)

Although the 30-player squad selected by coach Luciano Spalletti for the pre-Euro 2024 training camp soon became 28 through injuries to defenders Francesco Acerbi and Giorgio Scalvini, the Azzurri were already short of some notable options to pick from.

Spalletti initially left out Juventus defender Federico Gatti, controversially, and Bianconeri midfielder Manuel Locatelli. The centre-back did then receive a later call.

Ex-AC Milan midfielder Sandro Tonali has been out through suspension since October 2023, but injuries to Domenico Berardi, Nicolo Zaniolo and Destiny Udogie throughout the 2023/24 campaign have weakened the squad.

Riccardo Orsolini, after an excellent season and helping Bologna to qualify for the Champions League, will feel hard done by to have been cut. The full Italy Euro 2024 squad is as follows:


Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint-Germain), Alex Meret (Napoli), Guglielmo Vicario (Tottenham).


Alessandro Bastoni (Inter), Raoul Bellanova (Torino), Alessandro Buongiorno (Torino), Riccardo Calafiori (Bologna), Andrea Cambiaso (Juventus), Matteo Darmian (Inter), Giovanni Di Lorenzo (Napoli), Federico Dimarco (Inter), Federico Gatti (Juventus), Gianluca Mancini (AS Roma).


Nicolo Barella (Inter), Bryan Cristante (AS Roma), Nicolo Fagioli (Juventus), Michael Folorunsho (Hellas Verona), Davide Frattesi (Inter), Jorginho (Arsenal), Lorenzo Pellegrini (AS Roma).


Federico Chiesa (Juventus), Stephan El Shaarawy (AS Roma), Giacomo Raspadori (Napoli), Mateo Retegui (Genoa), Gianluca Scamacca (Atalanta), Mattia Zaccagni (Lazio).