When are the 2023/24 Europa League and Europa Conference League group draws?

The Europa League and the Europa Conference League group stage draw is almost upon us. But when and where will the draw take place, which Italian clubs are involved, and who can they be drawn against?

-

After AS Roma came within a penalty kick of winning the 2023 Europa League final and Fiorentina suffered a similar last-gasp defeat in the Europa Conference League final against West Ham United, fans will hope that an Italian team can go one step closer in Europe this season.

The Giallorossi became the first Serie A club in 12 years to win a European trophy when defeating Feyenoord in the Europa Conference League Final in 2022. That highlighted the benefits of putting significant resources behind a challenge for continental silverware, but when will Serie A sides competing in the Europa League and Europa Conference League find out their group-stage opponents?

Which Italian teams qualified for the 2023/24 Europa League?

Although they just missed out on Champions League qualification last season, Atalanta and Roma will be among the favourites for the Europa League and are placed in Pot 1 for the draw, due to their UEFA club coefficient rankings. Allowing them to avoid the likes of Premier League sides Liverpool and West Ham, Villarreal of La Liga and Bayer Leverkusen from Germany’s Bundesliga.

Gian Piero Gasperini celebrates leading Atalanta into Europe again for 2023/24. (@Atalanta_BC)

The Giallorossi went so close to a second consecutive European trophy last year, losing to Sevilla on penalties, so coach Jose Mourinho will be looking to remind everyone of his continental credentials when the campaign starts. La Dea are likely to have lower expectations for an extended run in Europa, but will continue to surprise a lot of people unfamiliar with Gian Piero Gasperini’s recent work.

With Juventus accepting a one-year ban from European competition, Fiorentina will take up the Italian place in the Europa Conference League, but will have to overcome Rapid Wien in the final play-off round to reach the group stage.

Antonin Barak celebrates a goal for Fiorentina in the Europa Conference League. (@acffiorentina)

When are the Europa League and Europa Conference League group stage draws?

The Europa League group stage draw will take place at the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco on Friday, September 1, 2023, at 13:00 CEST – 12:00 BST, 07:00 EDT, 04:00 PDT – and will follow the same format as before, with UEFA deputy general secretary, Giorgio Marchetti, drawing one team from each pot into eight groups.

The Europa Conference League group stage draw will begin a short time later at 14:30 CEST / 13:30 BST / 08:30 EDT / 05:30 PDT.

Nico Gonzalez celebrates for Fiorentina in the Europa Conference League. [Getty]

Europa League and Europa Conference League: 2023/24 calendars

The first group stage fixtures of both the Europa League and Europa Conference League will then take place on September 21, with the final round of matches on December 14.

When and where is the 2024 Europa League final?

The Europa League final will take place on May 22, 2024, at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin.

When and where is the 2024 Europa Conference League final?

The Europa Conference League final is a week later on May 29, 2024, at the Agia Sophia Stadium in Athens.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Must Read

Torino vs Juventus: Preview, kick-off time and where to watch on...

0
Torino will host Juventus at the Stadio Grande Torino on Serie A Matchday 32, and the Granata will be facing a Bianconeri team that...