Freiburg vs Juventus: Preview, team news, kick-off time and where to watch on TV and online

Juventus have the lead over Freiburg ahead of their Europa League second leg, but can they get the job done in Germany?

-

Juventus will travel to Germany to face Freiburg at the Stade Europa-Park on Thursday evening in the second leg of their Round of 16 Europa League tie.

The Bianconeri have a 1-0 aggregate lead after their victory in Turin, but their inability to kill off the tie early should give Christian Streich and his players, especially the talismanic Vincenzo Grifo, some hope of producing a surprise result. Juve struggled to beat bottom-place Sampdoria in their latest Serie A match while Freiburg left it late to defeat Hoffenheim in the Bundesliga on the weekend.

Juventus last won the Europa League when it was still known as the UEFA Cup back in 1993, when a Bianconeri side inspired by the legendary Roberto Baggio and the late Gianluca Vialli went on to defeat German giants Borussia Dortmund. Thirty years on and facing another Bundesliga club, could it be a sign?

Juventus striker Dusan Vlahovic features against Freiburg (@JuventusFC)

Freiburg v Juventus: Predicted line-ups

Freiburg will still miss Daniel-Kofi Kyereh with a knee injury while Austrian defender Philipp Lienhart has an injured hip. Lienhart’s compatriot Michael Gregoritsch should be fit to start in attack after making a brief appearance in Turin a week ago. 

Meanwhile, Juventus coach Massimiliano Allegri will have to deal with a few absentees. Alex Sandro, Arkadiusz Milik, and Paul Pogba have muscular injuries, Federico Chiesa has knee problems, and Angel Di Maria might be in some doubt.

Freiburg predicted XI v Juventus (4-4-2): Flekken; Kubler, Ginter, Gulde, Gunter; Doan, Eggestein, Hofler, Grifo; Holer, Gregoritsch

Juventus predicted XI v Freiburg (3-5-1-1): Szczesny; Danilo, Bonucci, Bremer; Cuadrado, Fagioli, Locatelli, Rabiot, Kostic; Miretti; Vlahovic.

Freiburg v Juventus: When does the Europa League fixture start?

The Europa League fixture of Freiburg v Juventus kicks off at 18:45 CET – local time in Italy – making it a 17:45 GMT kick-off.

In the United States, kick-off of Freiburg v Juventus is 12:45 ET or 09:45 PT.

Freiburg v Juventus: Where to watch the Europa League fixture?

In the United States, every Europa League game in 2022/23 can be seen on Paramount+, including Freiburg v Juventus and the other standout fixtures of the Europa League Round of 16.

In the United Kingdom and Ireland, you can watch Freiburg v Juventus on BT Sport 7.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Must Read

Milan Leao

Serie A 2023/24: Matchday 26 results

0
Matchday 26 of the Serie A season proved to be a successful one for many of the teams chasing European qualification as AS Roma,...