How many times have Inter won Serie A?

Undeniably one of Italy's biggest sides, Inter have won more Serie A titles than most. But where does their tally rank among the other giants of Italian football?


A force in Italian and European football and with their Serie A titles and European triumphs showing their strenght, Inter have made their impact on the world game, and they have had the share of talented players as well as innovative coaches at the club. Formed in 1908 after members of AC Milan broke away to create a new club that would welcome foreign players, the Nerazzurri won their first Italian championship in 1909/10 and they won their second 10 years later.

Italian football became professional in 1929, and Inter triumphed in the first season in which the Italian championship was officially known as Serie A.

Inter achieve success through implementing catenaccio

After winning the Serie A title in 1929/30, Inter won the scudetto again in 1937/38 and 1939/40, inspired by the goals from legendary forward Giuseppe Meazza. However, the emergence of defensive tactics became prominent in the post-war era, and the Nerazzurri were one of the first teams to win silverware in this manner.

Coach Alfredo Foni implemented the catenaccio tactic, and the Biscione won back-to-back Serie A titles in 1952/53 and 1953/54. They would go on to win three titles in the 1960s including their first golden star in 1965/66 implementing catenaccio under Helenio Herrera. The Argentinian coach also led the team to consecutive European Cup victories in 1964 and 1965 before he left in 1968.

Trapattoni leads the Invincibles to glory

The Stadio Giuseppe Meazza / San Siro ahead of Inter vs AC Milan’s derby in the second leg of their Champions League semi-final. (@Inter)

After the departure of Herrera, Inter won league titles in 1970/71, 1979/80, and 1988/89. The latter was one of the most impressive triumphs in Italian history as they won the league by 11 points in an era when two points were awarded for a victory.

Giovanni Trapattoni coached the team that would later become known as Gli Invincibili – the Invincibles. Built around Italians like Walter Zenga and Giuseppe Bergomi as well as West German stars Lothar Matthaus and Andreas Brehme, they scored 67 goals, conceded just 19 times, and suffered just two defeats.

Inter went thrown a barren spell afterwards and bucked under the pressure in numerous titles challenges, but the 2006 Calciopoli scandal had a significant impact on the Italian football landscape and the Nerazzurri became the dominant side in the aftermath of that saga.

Mourinho secures the treble for Inter

Inter were awarded the 2005/06 Serie A title, which had been stripped off Juventus, and they would win another two championships under Roberto Mancini. A lack of European success concerned Nerazzurri president Massimo Moratti, and he replaced Mancini with Portuguese tactician Jose Mourinho.

The Special One won the scudetto in 2008/09, and most importantly, he led the Biscione to the tripletta or treble in 2009/10 as they went on to win Serie A, the Coppa Italia, and the Champions League. To this day, Inter remain the only Italian club to have made this accomplishment, and since then, the Nerazzurri managed to win another two scudetti: in 2020/21 under coach Antonio Conte, and in 2023/24 under the guidance of Simone Inzaghi.

Antonio Conte. (Photo: Tottenham Hotspur Facebook)

How many times have Inter won Serie A?

With Inter securing the 2023/24 Serie A title under Inzaghi, the Nerazzurri are in clear second for scudetto triumphs, and they now have one more than city rivals AC Milan.

Inter have won 20 Serie A titles, second to Juventus, and they also have won nine Coppa Italia trophies.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Must Read

Jimenez Milan

Every AC Milan transfer summer 2024: Signings and sales

AC Milan were one of the busiest clubs in Serie A during the 2023 summer transfer window but the season did not go as...

Every Serie A shirt for 2024/25