The Italy Men’s National Team return to the scene of one of their greatest triumphs on Matchday 1 of the 2024 (Men’s) European Championship, as they start their Group B campaign at Signal Iduna Park in Dortmund against Albania on Saturday night.

Back in 2006, the Azzurri defeated hosts Germany 2-0 in the World Cup semi-final at the same venue before becoming world champions, and coach Luciano Spalletti will hope that a comprehensive victory in their opening Euro 2024 match will send them on their way to another trophy.

Italy vs Albania: Team news and predicted line-ups

The withdrawals of Francesco Acerbi and Giorgio Scalvini raised questions over the composition of the Italy defence, but the performances of Torino centre-back Alessandro Buongiorno this term is likely to see the Torino man marshal a back three.

On the left, the experience of Alessandro Bastoni might see the Inter defender edge out Bologna revelation Riccardo Calafiori after shakier-than-usual showing against Bosnia and Herzegovina in the final warm-up game.

While Albania are arguably the weakest side in Group B, Spalletti may still choose the tried and tested duo of Euro 2020 winners Nicolo Barella and Jorginho in central midfield, rather than the more creative options in the Azzurri squad, such as Nicolo Fagioli or Lorenzo Pellegrini.

Luciano Spalletti with the Italy Men’s National Team. (@Azzurri)

Italy predicted XI vs Albania (3-4-1-2): Donnarumma; Di Lorenzo, Calafiori, Bastoni, Dimarco; Jorginho, Barella; Chiesa, Frattesi, Pellegrini; Scamacca.

Albania predicted XI vs Italy (4-3-3): Strakosha; Balliu, Ismajli, Djimsiti, Hysaj; Bare, Asllani, Bajrami; Daku, Broja, Manaj.

Euro 2024: When does Italy vs Albania start?

Gianluca Mancini and Jorginho in conversation in Italy Men’s National Team action. (@Azzurri)

The Euro 2024 Group B fixture of Italy vs Albania kicks off at 21:00 CEST – local time in Italy – making it a 20:00 BST kick-off in the United Kingdom and Ireland.

In the United States, kick-off of Italy vs Albania is 15:00 EDT or 12:00 PDT.

Euro 2024: Where to watch Italy vs Albania?

Gianluca Scamacca in action for the Italy Men’s National Team. (@Azzurri)

In the United States, every Euro 2024 game can be seen on subscription services fuboTV or ViX+, including Italy vs Albania and the other standout fixtures of Euro 2024 Matchday 1.

In the United Kingdom, you can watch Italy vs Albania on BBC One and iPlayer.

In Ireland, Italy vs Albania will be shown on RTE 2 and the RTE Player, while Optus Sport will be showing the game in Australia.