The Italy Men’s National Team will face the tough task of defending their crown as European champions in Germany this summer, although few are expecting Luciano Spalletti‘s Azzurri to come close to repeating their Wembley heroics at this summer’s 2024 Men’s European Championship.

Spalletti has now cut his provisional selection down to its final 26-man squad, and the Azzurri coach’s choices have already raised eyebrows and questions across the world of Italian football.

The exclusion of Bologna forward Riccardo Orsolini comes as a surprise after a stellar season, as down the omission of Manuel Locatelli, though the Juventus midfielder was even left off the 30-man squad.

Italy 2024 Men’s European Championship squad

Luciano Spalletti with the Italy Men’s National Team. (@Azzurri)


Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint-Germain), Alex Meret (Napoli), Guglielmo Vicario (Tottenham).


Alessandro Bastoni (Inter), Raoul Bellanova (Torino), Alessandro Buongiorno (Torino), Riccardo Calafiori (Bologna), Andrea Cambiaso (Juventus), Matteo Darmian (Inter), Giovanni Di Lorenzo (Napoli), Federico Dimarco (Inter), Federico Gatti (Juventus), Gianluca Mancini (AS Roma).


Nicolo Barella (Inter), Bryan Cristante (AS Roma), Nicolo Fagioli (Juventus), Michael Folorunsho (Hellas Verona), Davide Frattesi (Inter), Jorginho (Arsenal), Lorenzo Pellegrini (AS Roma).


Federico Chiesa (Juventus), Stephan El Shaarawy (AS Roma), Giacomo Raspadori (Napoli), Mateo Retegui (Genoa), Gianluca Scamacca (Atalanta), Mattia Zaccagni (Lazio).

Italy Euro 2024 shirt numbers

Federico Dimarco takes a corner for the Italy Men’s National Team. (@Azzurri)

Below is the complete list of Italy’s Euro 2024 shirt numbers, in numerical order.

  1. Gianluigi Donnarumma
  2. Giovanni Di Lorenzo
  3. Federico Dimarco
  4. Alessandro Buongiorno
  5. Riccardo Calafiori
  6. Federico Gatti
  7. Davide Frattesi
  8. Jorginho
  9. Gianluca Scamacca
  10. Lorenzo Pellegrini
  11. Giacomo Raspadori
  12. Guglielmo Vicario
  13. Matteo Darmian
  14. Federico Chiesa
  15. Raoul Bellanova
  16. Bryan Cristante
  17. Gianluca Mancini
  18. Nicolo Barella
  19. Mateo Retegui
  20. Mattia Zaccagni
  21. Nicolo Fagioli
  22. Stephan El Shaarawy
  23. Alessandro Bastoni
  24. Andrea Cambiaso
  25. Michael Folorunsho
  26. Alex Meret