With the 2024 European Championship in Germany approaching, Luciano Spalletti has named a 30-player provisional Italy Men’s National Team squad who will be hoping to make the final list and aim to defend the Azzurri‘s crown as reigning European champions this summer.

Before the squad set off for Germany on Monday, June 10, the Azzurri will face two friendlies against Turkey on June 4 at the Stadio Renato Dall’Ara in Bologna and then Bosnia and Herzegovina on June 9 in the Stadio Carlo Castellani in Empoli. They kick off their Euro 2024 campaign against Albania in Dortmund on June 15.

There are a number of novelties on the list and surprise exclusions as well, with Bologna defender Riccardo Calafiori earning a deserved first call-up to the senior Italy squad, while the exclusions of both Juventus midfielder Manuel Locatelli and Lazio forward Ciro Immobile have raised eyebrows.

Riccardo Calafiori celebrates Bologna’s win over Atalanta at the Gewis Stadium (@Bolognafc1909).

The decision to leave out first-choice Atalanta goalkeeper Marco Carnesecchi also comes as a surprise, just a day after La Dea won the Europa League – albeit with Juan Musso in goal.

Locatelli took to Instagram in response to the squad announcement, posting nothing but a black screen to his stories. He deactivated the option to reply to the story or to even like the update.

Hellas Verona‘s Michael Folorunsho and Torino‘s Raoul Bellanova are called up for the second time after their inclusion in March, while Samuele Ricci of Torino and Ivan Provedel of Lazio are returning having missed out recently.

Another point of note is that there are no AC Milan players included in this Azzurri squad, meaning this summer will be the first time since 1938 that Italy will go to a European Championship or a World Cup finals without a Rossoneri player in their ranks.

Italy Men’s National Team provisional Euro 2024 squad


Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint-Germain), Alex Meret (Napoli), Ivan Provedel (Lazio), Guglielmo Vicario (Tottenham).


Francesco Acerbi (Inter), Alessandro Bastoni (Inter), Raoul Bellanova (Torino), Alessandro Buongiorno (Torino), Riccardo Calafiori (Bologna), Andrea Cambiaso (Juventus), Matteo Darmian (Inter), Giovanni Di Lorenzo (Napoli), Federico Dimarco (Inter), Gianluca Mancini (AS Roma), Giorgio Scalvini (Atalanta).

Juventus pair Nicolo Fagioli and Gleison Bremer celebrate. (@juventusfc)


Nicolo Barella (Inter), Bryan Cristante (Roma), Nicolo Fagioli (Juventus), Michael Folorunsho (Hellas Verona), Davide Frattesi (Inter), Jorginho (Arsenal), Lorenzo Pellegrini (Roma), Samuele Ricci (Torino).


Federico Chiesa (Juventus), Stephan El Shaarawy (Roma), Riccardo Orsolini (Bologna), Giacomo Raspadori (Napoli), Mateo Retegui (Genoa), Gianluca Scamacca (Atalanta), Mattia Zaccagni (Lazio).

Atalanta’s Berat Djimsiti and Gianluca Scamacca. [@Atalanta_BC]