How many times have Napoli won Serie A?

Serie A's 2022/23 champions, Napoli, are undeniably one of Italy's very biggest clubs, but they haven't won as many Serie A titles as you might think. How many times have they won the scudetto?


Napoli are a club that have played a prominent part in Italian football history despite not being as decorated as their rivals from the north of Italy, and they have been one of the few teams from Southern Italy to have featured regularly in Serie A.

For most of their history, the Partenopei would come close to winning the Serie A title, but lacked the extra quality to claim the scudetto. That all changed when Diego Maradona was signed from Barcelona in the summer of 1984, and with the Argentinian in their team, the Neapolitans experienced a golden period in their history while he produced arguably the greatest performances in his illustrious career.

Napoli are also the only team from the mainland of Southern Italy to have won the scudetto after Cagliari had taken the title to the island of Sardinia in 1969/70. So how many Serie A titles have they won?

A Napoli squad photo from 1990, a scudetto-winning campaign. (@en_sscnapoli)

Napoli suffer years of near misses before Serie A success

Formed in 1926, Napoli participated in the first Serie A season in 1929/30 and went on to finished third twice in the 1930s, but they eventually got relegated down to Serie B in 1941/42.

The Partenopei finished second behind AC Milan in 1967/68 with Dino Zoff in goal and Jose Altafini firing in the goals. They also finished second in 1974/75, losing the title to Juventus, and they lost both matches against Bianconeri, one of them ending 6-2 in favour of La Vecchia Signora.

Maradona brings pride and joy to Naples

A statue of Diego Maradona at the Stadio Diego Armando Maradona. (@sscnapoli)

Before the arrival of Maradona, the Neapolitans had survived relegation by just one point at the end of the 1983/84 Serie A season, but the Argentinian forward slowly transformed them into title contenders.

After years of dominance from the big northern clubs, Napoli finally took the scudetto to the south of mainland Italy when they won the Serie A title in 1986/87. The Partenopei also completed the double after beating Atalanta over two legs in the Coppa Italia final.

Napoli lost the scudetto to AC Milan in 1987/88 and to Inter in the following season, but they were able to win their second Serie A title in 1989/90, shrugging off a challenge from the Rossoneri. In addition to their domestic glory, they also won the 1988/89 UEFA Cup against West German side VfB Stuttgart in a two-legged final.

Unfortunately, Maradona was banned for drug usage in 1991, leaving the Partenopei soon after, and then in 2004, the club filed for bankruptcy. Despite his untimely end at the club, he is still considered a legend in Naples and rated one of the greatest players ever.

Spalletti breaks scudetto drought

Napoli’s Victor Osimhen with the Serie A title. (@en_sscnapoli)

Before Luciano Spalletti arrived in 2021, Napoli came close on numerous occasions to winning Serie A again, but would often crumble under pressure.

Under the guidance of coaches like Walter Mazzarri, Maurizio Sarri, and Carlo Ancelotti, the Partenopei could not break Juventus’ hegemony in Italian football. Many talented players like Kalidou Koulibaly, Edinson Cavani, Marek Hamsik, and Dries Mertens featured in those teams, but they could not break the drought.

The 2022/23 Serie A was something out of the ordinary. Napoli released or sold many stalwarts including Koulibaly and Mertens, but Spalletti coached a team that were a great unit offensively and defensively. With Victor Osimhen firing 26 goals and Khvicha Kvaratskhelia providing inspiration from the left-wing, the Neapolitans went on to win their first scudetto without Diego Maradona.

That 2022/23 scudetto was the third of the three Serie A titles that Napoli have won.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Must Read

AS Roma Europa League

AS Roma vs Bologna: Preview, kick-off time and where to watch...

The race for Champions League qualification heats up when fifth-place AS Roma welcome Bologna in fourth to the Stadio Olimpico in Matchday 33 of...