After squeezing out of Group B in second place thanks to a last-gasp equalising goal from Mattia Zaccagni against Croatia, the Italy Men’s National Team will face Switzerland in the 2024 European Championship Round of 16 at the Olympiastadion in Berlin on Saturday night.

The Azzurri defeated the Swiss 3-0 in the group stage when they lifted the trophy at Euro 2020, but their opponents have arguably looked more convincing as they navigated themselves through Group A, and only narrowly missed out on top spot after hosts Germany also netted a late equaliser in their final fixture.

Italy Men’s National Team players celebrate at Euro 2024. (@Azzurri_En)

Switzerland vs Italy: Predicted line-ups

Luciano Spalletti switched to a 3-5-2 for the clash with Croatia, but after a disappointing performance is likely to return to his tried and tested 4-2-3-1 or a 4-3-3 formation against the Swiss, particularly as the ever-present Riccardo Calafiori is absent after picking up a second yellow card last time out.

Although Matteo Darmian started in a back three against the Croatians, the Inter utility man is less accustomed to playing in a pair, so Alessandro Buongiorno of Torino had looked likely to deputise for Calafiori, though reports closer to the game point towards Gianluca Mancini getting into the XI.

Spalletti also has a decision at the tip of the Azzurri attack. Neither Gianluca Scamacca nor Mateo Retegui have convinced so far, but the Atalanta man is expected to get the nod with Federico Chiesa returning on the right and Stephan El Shaarawy coming in on the left.

Juventus midfielder Nicolo Fagioli could start as well, with Nicolo Barella and Bryan Cristante the likely partners of the Bianconeri youngster against Switzerland.

Switzerland predicted XI vs Italy (3-4-3): Sommer; Schar, Akanji, Rodriguez; Stergiou, Freuler, Xhaka, Aebischer; Ndoye, Embolo, Vargas.

Italy predicted XI vs Switzerland (4-3-3): Donnarumma; Di Lorenzo, Bastoni, Mancini, Dimarco; Barella, Fagioli, Cristante; Chiesa, Scamacca, El Shaarawy.

Italy Men’s National Team centre-back Alessandro Bastoni controls the ball (@Azzurri)

Euro 2024: When does Switzerland vs Italy start?

The Euro 2024 Round of 16 fixture of Switzerland vs Italy kicks off at 18:00 CEST – local time in Germany and in Italy – making it a 17:00 BST kick-off in Britain and Ireland.

In the United States, kick-off of Switzerland vs Italy is 12:00 EDT or 09:00 PDT.

Euro 2024: Where to watch Switzerland vs Italy?

In the United States, every Euro 2024 game can be seen on subscription services fuboTV or ViX+, including Switzerland vs Italy and the other standout fixtures of Euro 2024

In the United Kingdom, you can watch Switzerland vs Italy on BBC One and iPlayer.

In Ireland, Switzerland vs Italy will be shown on RTE 2 and the RTE Player, while Optus Sport will be showing the game in Australia.