When is the 2023/24 Champions League group draw?

Napoli, Inter, AC Milan and Lazio are all waiting to know their Champions League opponents. But when is the draw, and who are the Serie A sides likely to face in the group stage?

-

Now that domestic action in Italy is underway with the 2023/24 Serie A season having begun, thoughts will quickly turn to continental competition with the final qualification rounds nearing completion and the group stage draw for the Champions League approaching.

Last season, fans witnessed a Derby della Madonnina between AC Milan and Inter at the semi-final stage of Europe’s premier competition for the first time in 18 years, but Manchester City denied the Nerazzurri in the final by just a single goal.

Hopes of another impressive showing by Italian clubs this term remain high, but when will they find out their group-stage opponents?

Champions League draw pots: Which Italian Serie A teams are competing in 2023/24?

As 2022/23 scudetto winners, Napoli will compete for a second consecutive season and have the advantage of being drawn from Pot 1 alongside other league champions, and Europa League winners Sevilla, which will see them avoid a few of the continent’s traditional giants.

After reaching both the Champions League and Europa League finals in recent seasons, Inter are Italy’s top seed based on UEFA club coefficient points (96,000) and that places them in Pot 2.

Milan and Lazio have amassed almost half the points of the Nerazzurri, so they will both be picked from Pot 3 and are almost guaranteed to be third favourites in whichever group they join.

When is the Champions League draw?

Inter players Raoul Bellanova, Francesco Acerbi and Federico Dimarco applaud fans after the 2023 Champions League final loss. (@Inter_en)

The 2023/24 Champions League group stage draw will take place at the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco on August 31, 2023 at 18:00 CEST/17:00 BST / 12:00 EDT / 09:00 PDT and will be the last edition of the competition to feature 32 teams, with an expansion to 36 clubs and a Swiss-style group stage format for the 2024/25 season.

For the last time, UEFA deputy general secretary, Giorgio Marchetti, will be accompanied by a supporting cast of special guests connected to this year’s final venue, Wembley Stadium in London, as they draw one team from each pot into eight groups.

The first group stage fixtures will then take place on September 19 and 20, with the final round of matches on December 12 and 13, ahead of the Round of 16 draw on Monday, December 18, 2023.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Must Read

Cagliari vs Juventus: Preview, kick-off time and where to watch on...

0
Juventus will travel to Sardinia to play Cagliari at the Unipol Domus on Serie A Matchday 33, and the coaches of the respective clubs...